With Honors

GANA Presents Special Recognition During GPD

by Sara Neiswanger

onorary degrees, designations and memberships are given selectively by organizations and institutions across the country with the intent to recognize an individual by special distinction based on achievement or service. In GANA's case, our honorary members are a mixture of individuals who were once active in the association, as well as others who have not been members, but all have made

significant contributions to further the glass and glazing industry.

In June 2017, GANA awarded its most recent honorary membership to Jorma Vitkala, chairperson of the Glass Performance Days (GPD) organizing committee. Stanley Yee, GANA immediate past president, presented an honorary membership award on behalf of the association's board of directors. This was given in recognition of Vitkala's diligent and

enthusiastic collaboration, education, leadership and service to the glass and glazing industry internationally.

Vitkala joins a distinctive list of individuals who comprise GANA's honorary membership list:

RECIPIENTS OF GANA'S HONORARY MEMBERSHIP

2017 Jorma Vitkala

2013 Henry Gorry

2008 Robert Maltby

2007 William Coddington

2004 Stan Joehlin

2003 Robert Brown

2003 Bill Knutsen

2000 Harry Miles

Congratulations to all GANA honorary members; we are appreciative of having you in our company.



Jorma Vitkala (left) received the GANA Honorary Member Award from Stanley Yee, GANA immediate past president, during GPD 2017.

the author



Sara
Neiswanger is the account executive for the Glass Association of North America in Topeka, Kan.



Jorma Vitkala received many awards and recognition during GPD, including the first Jorma Vitkala Award of Merit presented by Jean-Paul Hautekeer (far left) with Dow Corning and Jonathan Cohen (center) of Kuraray. In addition, USGlass editor Ellen Rogers presented a plaque in recognition of GPD's 25th anniversary.